Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 35mm 2p (2-perf)

Hello,

I'm getting ready to edit a film shot on 35mm 2-perf stock. The film lab is transferring it to DVCPro HD 720p 23.98 and providing me with the digital footage on a hard drive, as well as an ALE file to import into Cinema Tools.

I've never used Cinema Tools before... I got some advice from a friend and have been reading the manual, but I still have a few initial concerns.

I know I'll need to use the "Import Telecine Log" command to import the ALE once I create the database, but I'm concerned about doing that step if the database isn't set up correctly initially...

1. Upon creating a new database file, I'm not given the option to choose "35mm 2p," only 3p and 4p. Will this be a problem, and if not which should I choose?

2. There is no Video TC rate option for 23.98 fps, even though the manual says there should be. The closest option is 24 fps.

3. I understand once the database is created correctly I'll have to export it to an XML to open in Final Cut. I'm a little unclear abut which of the Export options to use. "Film Lists from XML," "XML Film Lists from XML," and "XML Batch List" all seem like viable options.

Thanks a lot for any light you can shed.

Joni

New info.

I did find out that Cinema Tools doesn't support 2 perf at all, which brings up a whole new question of workflow. Hmm...

Comment

I REALLY have no idea but would guess you use 3-perf so you don't lose any of the frame but REALLY don't know so I just put a shout out for you and hopefully someone will step up to the plate.
      sigpic
      Eric Peterson (AKA, "Zwick")
      Person in charge
      Content creation/Education
      http://www.ericnp.net

Comment

Joni,

I am not using the latest FCP, but I think Cinema Tools is similar between FCP HD and the latest Studio 2.