Please help [LOOK]

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help [LOOK]

Ok I will try to explain my issue I am having as best as I can.

I've been trying to convert my video files from FCP to MPEG-2 format, I'm using compressor to convert into MPEG-2. I'm a film student at IADT in Tampa, FL. I been editing on Mac Pro's using the conversion with compressor. I never had a problem, I thought it was because I didn't have Quicktime PRO, considering I was at the Mac store today working on some motion with my one to one advisor and he said I need Quicktime PRO to play back MPEG-2 files. Well long story short, I don't need Quicktime PRO to do that. I'm not really sure what use I'll ever use QTP for.

After finding out that QTP wasn't my answer to my question, I went back looking for what could be the problem. I then came across the Quicktime MPEG-2 playback which will work for Quciktime or Quicktime PRO.

This is where I make some lead way, the video finally renders when I used MPEG Steamclip! I guess the MPEG-2 playback actually worked. How ever the sound doesn't work & it'll only let me save my file in .mov aka Quicktime which the quality of video is garbage. I didn't render it out from FC into compressor going to MPEG-2 if I wanted to convert it into .mov

I need help guys...

Here is my question, how can I render my video out of FC into MPEG-2 and be able to watch it in awesome quality & have sound.

Heres some pictures to see what I was doing wrong.

1st, you have QT Pro, it is a necessary component of FCP and comes with FCP's install.

For PLAYBACK of MPEG-2 within the QT Player you need to have the MPEG-2 Playback component. This is only needed if you want to view MPEG-2 content it has nothing to do with being able to create MPEG-2 content. So if your "advisor" was referring to the QT Player, he is correct. MPEG Streamclip also uses the Apple MPEG-2 Playback component.

Rendering is not the correct word. You are encoding, or transcoding.